February 20, 2014

O'Rourke & Dickerson Named to LVSCB Team of the Year

BETHLEHEM, Pa. – Senior Katie O'Rourke and junior Izel Dickerson from the Moravian College basketball teams have been named to the Lehigh Valley Small College Basketball Team of the Year by the LVSCB Organization at its final luncheon of the 2013-14 season at Starters Pub in Bethlehem.

O'Rourke, a point guard, has helped Moravian to a 19-5 overall record and a 10-3 Landmark Conference record. The Greyhounds have already clinched their 13th straight postseason appearance, as well. O'Rourke led the Greyhounds in scoring this season with 13.3 points per game after junior Alexis Wright, last season's LVSCB Pete Nevins Women's Player of the Year, was lost for the season with an injury. She also leads the team with 88 assists and an .829 mark from the free throw line. O'Rourke recorded a double-double of 23 points and 11 rebounds – both career highs – at No. 11 Montclair State University in December.

"Katie has been a terrific player for us all four years," head coach Mary Beth Spirk said. "She can score, she can rebound and she can assist. She has a chance to become the first player in Moravian history to record 1,000 points, 500 rebounds, 300 assists and 200 steals for a career. On and off the court, she is one of the best players I've ever had the pleasure of coaching."

O'Rourke needs just 33 points to become the 23rd member of the 1,000-Point Club for Moravian women's basketball. She is also one of 20 members of the 500-Rebound Club. With 1,000 points, she may become just the 14th player in school history to join both exclusive clubs.

Joining O'Rourke on the Team of the Year were Amber Wehry of Cedar Crest College, Brenna Coll of Delaware Valley College, Sondrine Glovas of DeSales University, Jessica Martin of East Stroudsburg University, Advia Campbell of Kutztown and Leanna Tallamy of Muhlenberg. Glovas was named the Peter Nevin Women's Player of the Year for the 2013-14 season by the LVSCB Organization.

Dickerson, a point guard, has helped the Moravian men to an 11-13 record and a 5-8 mark in Landmark Conference play. The Greyhounds need some help along with a win over The Catholic University of America on Saturday, but are still alive for a conference playoff spot. Dickerson leads the Hounds in six crucial categories, including points per game (14.4), minutes (33.1), assists (54), free throw percentage (.744), steals (26) and 3-point field goals (31).

"He leads us in virtually every offensive statistic that he can," head coach Jim Walker said. "He's our point guard, and he also has the task of defending the other team's best guard. In my opinion, our best player is going to play the most. Izel leads us in minutes played, so that's also another tough task."

Joining Dickerson on the Team of the Year were Francis Arnold of Delaware Valley, Mike Coleman of DeSales, Matt Tobin of East Stroudsburg, Tracy Peal of Kutztown and Kevin Hargrove of Muhlenberg. Tobin was named the Peter Nevin Men's Player of the Year for the 2013-14 season by the LVSCB Organization.

The Lehigh Valley Small College Basketball Organization is made up of the seven small college schools in the Lehigh Valley including NCAA Division II schools East Stroudsburg University of Pennsylvania and Kutztown University of Pennsylvania and NCAA Division III schools Cedar Crest College, Delaware Valley College, DeSales University, Moravian College and Muhlenberg College.